Faculty of Engineering


On behalf of staff and students of the Faculty of Engineering, University of Abuja, I would like to welcome you all to the Faculty of Engineering


The University of Abuja was established in January 1988 and academic work started in 1990.  It’s establishment was aimed at forging national unity by providing a conducive environment for learning and interaction for youths from all parts of Nigeria.

The Senate of the University at its 92nd Regular Meeting held on 27th October 2004 approved the establishment of the Faculty of Engineering with effect from 2005/2006 session. The Academic activities commenced with an initial intake of nine (9) and eight (8) undergraduate (100 level) students into the Departments of Civil Engineering and Mechanical Engineering respectively. The pioneer Dean, Engr. Prof. F. O. Akinbode FNSE was appointed in 2005.  Engr. Dr T.C. Ogwueleka and Engr. Dr I. M. Dagwa was appointed as the pioneer Heads of Departments of Civil Engineering and Mechanical Engineering respectively with effect from 1st June 2007 under the pioneer Dean. In the 2006/2007 session, the Faculty took-off with nine academic staff (1No. Professor, 3 Nos. Senior lecturers, 2 Nos. Lecturer I, 1 No. Lecturer II and 2 Nos. Graduate Assistants) and 2 Nos. Technical staff.  In 2008 more staff were recruited into the Faculty. Subsequently, Engr. Dr Duncan F. Aloko and Engr. J. S. Adedibu (late) was appointed as pioneer Heads of Departments of Chemical Engineering and Electrical & Electronic Engineering respectively. The Faculty hosts the secretariat of the Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE), Giri Branch.

The Faculty was established to provide world-class competent and qualified Engineers that will contribute to the technological and economic development of Nigeria.  The philosophy is aimed at producing employable and/or self-employed Engineers through the provision of the state-of-the art training in Engineering.

The vision of the Faculty includes, but not limited to producing competent Engineers that can design and supervise engineering projects, improve indigenous technology and establish linkages with industries.

Engr. Professor Toochukwu C. Ogwueleka,
Dean, Faculty of Engineering


The departments in the Faculty are:


  1. Prof. Toochukwu C. Ogwueleka – Dean
  2. Dr E. E Ndububa                     -Deputy Dean
  3. Naimat Akewusola – SAR-Faculty Officer
  4. Mohammed Umoru –  Senior Confidential Secretary
  5. Yakubu J. Rinas – Office Assistant
  6. Mal. Ahmed Nasir Birnin Kebbi – Principal Technologist, Faculty Workshop
  7. Mal. Saadu Razaq – Principal Technologist, Faculty Workshop

The entry requirements for the Bachelor of Engineering Programmes of the University of Abuja are in accordance with the NUC guidelines for UTME and Direct Entry for Undergraduate Programme in Engineering. These are as follows:

Admission Requirements for UTME
The minimum admission requirement for Engineering is passing at credit level in the Senior Secondary School final year examination or GCE ‘O’ Level in five subjects including Mathematics, English Language, Physics and Chemistry. Candidates are also required to have an acceptable pass in UTME. Candidates with Further Mathematics and Technical Drawing at credit levels shall have added advantage.

Remedial Placement:
Candidates must have at least a “B” grade in Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry and “C” in English Language – from Remedial Studies examination result with an acceptable score in UTME examination results.

Admission Requirements for Direct Entry
For Direct Entry, candidates must have passed in Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry at GCE ‘A’ level or equivalent. Holders of ND and HND at a minimum of upper credit level are eligible for consideration for admission into 200 and 300 levels respectively.

(i) Must have ‘O’ level requirement – pass at credit level in Mathematics, English Language, Physics, Chemistry and any other subject.

(ii) GCE (A/L)/IJMB – At least “C” grade in Mathematics and Physics i.e. at least a cumulative of 9 points.

 The Faculty of Engineering is offering a five-year degree programme leading to the degree of Bachelor of Engineering (B.Eng.) in different disciplines. The minimum and maximum years of graduation for a full-time Programme are as follows:

Level of Entry Minimum Length of Time to Graduate Maximum Length of Time to Graduate
100 5 years 7 years (14- Semesters)
200 4 years 6 years (12- Semesters)
300 3 years 5 years (10- Semesters)

For extension beyond the maximum period, special permission of Senate shall be required on the recommendation of the Faculty Board.

Contact Information
Engr. Prof. Toochukwu C. Ogwueleka
Stay in Touch